Hallers Joins Judging Panel – 2018 Sports Book Awards UK Autobiography Of The Year

The Sports Book Awards is the major annual promotion for sports writing and publishing, the awards exist to highlight the most outstanding sports books of the previous calendar year, to showcase their merits and to enhance their reputation and profile. The awards started in 2002, with the first award ceremony in 2003.

The Sports Book Awards 2018 are judged by an outstanding group of sports celebrities, broadcasters and journalists. The Autobiography of the year judging panel this year includes: Dame Katherine Grainger, ​Alison Kervin, Christine Ohuruogu, Simon Halliday, David Walsh and Joey Barton.

David Willis, Chairman of the Sports Book Awards said, Our 2018 longlist is once again packed with sporting greats and legendary sports stars from the UK. Any of these fantastic new books would make perfect Christmas gifts and I don’t envy the task of the judging panel to select the best sports Autobiography of the Year’.

The final short list for this award will be announced on the evening itself but the “long list” for this illustrious award is below:

Jenson Button – Life to the Limit – Blink Publishing
Steve Harmison – Speed Demons – Trinity Mirror Sport Media
Tony Adams – Sober – Simon & Schuster
Judy Murray – Knowing the Score – Chatto & Windus
Martine Wright – Unbroken – Simon & Schuster
Jonny Bairstow – A Clear Blue Sky – HarperCollins
Billy Vunipola – Wrecking Ball – Headline
Adebayo Akinfenwa – The Beast – Headline
Frank Bruno – Let Me Be Frank – Mirror Books
Graeme Souness – Football: My Life, My Passion – Headline
Nicola Adams – Believe – Penguin Random House
Michael Dunlop – ​Road Racer: It’s in My Blood​ – Michael O’Mara​

For more information about the 2018 Sports Book Awards visit:




@sportbookawards #sportsbookawards